You Can See An Enormous Supermoon Illuminating Vancouver This Weekend

Share

When the moon is both full and closest to us, we get a big, bright supermoon.

It's the only supermoon visible from the Northern Hemisphere in 2017, but the first two full moons in 2018 will also be supermoons.

But since the date didn't coincide with a full moon, it didn't qualify as a supermoon. Well, the moon isn't actually any larger than normal, it just appears larger because of how close it is to the Earth.

On Dec. 4, the high tide will reach 6.8 feet at 9:30 a.m.at Port San Luis.

Just over a year ago, we enjoyed an especially large supermoon: The one on November 14, 2016, was the closest one since January 26, 1948, which won't be surpassed again until the supermoon of November 25, 2034. The moon will reach its perigee when it will be at a distance of 222,135 miles (357,492 kilometers) from earth on December 4 at 3:45 a.m. EST (0845 GMT, 2.15 IST).

A supermoon occurs when the sun, moon and Earth align, and a full or new moon aligns with the sun's lunar orb.

This Sunday is your chance to get up close and personal with the Moon.

The Virtual Telescope project will also provide a livestream of the supermoon's rise over Rome's legendary skyline on December 3, starting at 4 p.m. UT (11 a.m. ET).

Though it will technically be the fourth supermoon of the year, none of the other three were visible as they came in the new moon phase, when the face of the moon shows black.

Stargazers who missed the December 3 supermoon will have two more opportunities in January and February to see the bright lunar phenomenon, according to NASA. The best time to watch a supermoon is when it's low, near the horizon.

FOX 13 Chief Meteorologist Paul Dellegatto says, because it's so close to Earth, a super full moon looks about 7 percent bigger and about 16 percent brighter than an average full moon.

Share