Record-breaking Gayle century powers Rangpur Riders to maiden BPL title


Records and Chris Gayle are synonymous to each other when it comes to Twenty20 cricket and the explosive West Indies batsman went on to better his plethora of records he made in the shortest format of the game.

Dhaka Dynamites opted to bowl first after winning the toss. Three players have taken 4 catches in a single game - Adam Lyth (Rangpur Riders vs Dhaka Dynamites), Sabbir Rahman (Sylhet Sixers vs Rajshahi Kings) and Cameron Delport (Dhaka Dynamites vs Sylhet Sixers).

Gayle battered a slew of records en route to the incredible knock that lasted just 69 deliveries and rook Riders to 206 for 1.

In second place are three batsmen tied on seven each - Michael Klinger, Luke Wright and Brendon McCullum. The previous record for the maximum number of sixes in a T20 match was also held by Gayle, when he had smashed 17 sixes for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors during Indian Premier League 2013.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza
Mashrafe diving full length during the match against Comilla Victorians on December 12

His knock contained 18 sixes - the most ever - and was the highest ever score in a T20 final.

Finally Rangpur Riders have tested the title. McCullum was content to play the second fiddle with an unbeaten 51 off 43. Jahurul Islam's fifty was not enough for Dhaka to chase the target down as they kept losing wickets in regular intervals. Elvin Lewis showed promise but departed on 15 in the fourth over. Skipper Shakib fought alone and scored 26 runs in 16 balls.

They added 42 runs for the fifth wicket but Shakib's fall meant they were five down inside the 9th over, a hopeless position from which the Dynamites could never recover. For Riders, Udana, Sohag Gazi and Nazmul Islam took two wickets each.