Users can also add an archived story to their Stories, share it as a post or add it to a highlight on their profile. From there, you can easily switch between your Posts Archive and your new Stories Archive.
Story Highlights lets you show all the sides of your personality, and you can make highlights out of anything you've shared to your story in the past.
Starting today, December 5, Instagram will be adding every story you post to a section of the archive feature.
You've always been able to archive old posts, and now your Stories will automatically be saved to the same folder.
The most dramatic feature is Highlights, which could brighten profiles with the classically more candid photos and videos that mostly appear in the stories. Note that you can create as many Highlights as you wish and they will remain on your profile until you delete them.
To check out your expired stories, tap the archive icon in the top-right corner of your profile.
Instagram just announced two major updates to its Stories feature that are going to change the way you use the app: Stories Archive and Stories Highlights.
Highlights can be edited or removed at any time; to do this, tap and hold the highlight you with to edit. As the name indicates, the archive would allow the users to save their stories for later viewing even after the twenty-four hours expiry time. This way the story can be relived on a future date in the Stories Highlights feature. Stories, which are collections of personal photos and video, previously expired in 24 hours.
While it may seem a little weird to have two new features centered around making stories last longer, that's exactly what Archive and Highlights do. This update rolls out today for both Android and IOS devices.
The Archive is private, so only the user can view their own stuff while it's in there. In fact, they will stay on the app permanently until you remove them. There's no way you or your friends and followers can see it.