BJP on way to big victory in UP civic polls


BJP candidates win 14 out of the 16 mayoral seats, BSP gets two In a major boost to the BJP ahead of Gujarat polls, the party pulled off a big victory in the Uttar Pradesh municipal elections with its candidates winning in 14 out of the 16 mayoral seats, including the prestigious Ayodhya and Varanasi, on Friday.

In the postal ballot round, the BJP did predictably well.

In Aligarh, however, BSP's Mohammad Furqan wrested the saffron stronghold defeating BJP nominee Rajiv Agarwal by a margin of 11,990 votes in a virtual direct contest.

Results for six corporation seats have also been announced in Agra of which five went to the BJP and one to the BSP. BJP's Sanyukta Bhatia is Lucknow's first woman mayor BJP's Sanyukta Bhatia created history as she was elected the first woman mayor of Lucknow defeating nearest rival, SP's Meera Vardhan, by a huge margin of 1,31,356 votes.

As per the PTI report, BJP's mayor candidates were leading in some of the cities like Saharanpur, Lucknow, Ghaziabad, Meerut, and Gorakhpur, the initial trends suggest.

He also said that the BJP would now look forward to achieve the goal of 100 per cent success in 2019 Lok Sabha polls. The Congress lost in Jais and Gauriganj where nagar palika polls were held.

"Cycle" is the election symbol of the Samajwadi Party.

BJP candidate Vinod Agarwal defeated Congress's Rizvan Qureishi by a margin of 22,635 votes in Moradabad.

The Musafirkhana seat was won by independent Brijesh Agrihari while the Amethi seat was won by BJP candidate Chandra Devi. On the Opposition's charges of EVM tampering, Sharma said, "The shortcoming is not in the EVMs but in their minds. They continued to support SP leader Azam Khan", said a BJP MP.

The Samajwadi Party and Congress - which fought the assembly polls in alliance - were trounced once again in the urban body elections with the BJP taking most of the seats in the nagar nigams, nagar palika parishads and nagar panchayats. And it is during the local body elections neither the former chief minister and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav nor the BSP chief Mayawati campaigned for the same. Over 3.36 crore voters exercised their rights at 36,269 polling booths in the state to decide the fate of 79,113 candidates. Officials said no procession would be allowed during the counting process and following the announcement of the results.